top of page

P.C.T.: 7 Months Down, 2 Days To Go.


7 months ago marked a huge turning point in my life. Brought on by the issue that I had no idea of what I was going to do with my education and coupled with a sudden and unwelcome depression, I decided I was going to embark on an endeavor that has long taunted and tempted me. The fact that I pay a very low amount in rent and with this practically unspoken for schedule of mine, led me to believe I could accomplish a goal I've had for as long as I can remember; a very brutal goal that takes an unlimited amount of dedication to accomplish. I would save up approximately 3,500 dollars, make sure I had top of the line gear for safety and comfort, and then begin a 5 1/2 month journey by foot, from Mexico to Canada on the Pacific Crest Trail.

In the beginning, the plan was to hike solo. I wanted to test myself fully; push my mind and body to it's limits, and break myself open to find the golden, luminescent being hidden inside. I wanted to become a woman who knows what she's doing and where she wants to go and how she wants to get there. But then I met a wonderful human being who maneuvered his way around my shyness and is slowly breaking through my barrier. He found a way to move me in a fashion that has been foreign to me for what seems like a long time. What he also did was decide to quit his jobs and leave his life behind for 5 1/2 months, and invite himself on the trail with me and I assure you, he is more than welcome.

There have been plenty of "goals" I swore on my life I wouldn't give up on. Then, a few weeks later I find that the excitement I had for my plans has melted away in the heat from the friction between my day dreams and my stressful working life. But I didn't want that to happen with the P.C.T.. I didn't want it to be another one of my silly day dreams that floats off into the abyss of my memory. So, I made the view of Mount Rainier from the trail my phone background and promised myself not to change it, until I reach that same view on my actual hike. So while keeping the plan in the front of my mind for the last half of a year, I've read an uncountable amount of related articles, did endless amounts of research on resupply strategies, tents, clothing, stoves, weather, injuries and pretty much everything else you would want to know about that has to do with the trail, including separate long distance hikes.

Even though I spent hours upon hours reasearching and watching P.C.T. videos and dreaming of being on the trail, I didn't spend as much time planning and even today, 2 days before we embark, I haven't put as much effort into the planning process; I don't regret it and I don't believe that I will. I feel that I have got the basics of my trip thouroughly planned and the rest will work itself out as I go.

I used Craig's PCT Planner (www.pctplanner.com) to figure out my resupply points, and estimate my times of arrival at each point. With this website, you enter in your day of take off, your average hiking speed, hours per day you will be hiking, and an amount of hiking time added to every 1000 feet climbed in elevation. It then tells you when you should be at all your desired resupply locations and also gives you the option to add layover days, and adjust hiking speeds and hours hiked, etc. After I did that, I used a website (which I am having trouble relocating at the moment) that told me the most expensive towns we woud pass through. So I chose 11 of those towns to send a pre packed box to with food and supplies, and the rest of the locations we plan to resupply at, I will be buying my food from the local grocery stores.

I planned out what clothes I will be needing for the entire trip which consists of: 1 or 2 pairs of running shorts with an underwear liner, sports bra, Prana hiking tank-top, REI hiking pants (roll up, not zip off), Ice Breakers long underwear, Smartwool 1/4 Zip baselayer top, Patagonia Better Sweater Fleece, Mountain Harwear rain jacket, 3-4 pairs of Darn Tough light cushion crew socks, 1 North Face beanie, 3 pairs of Salamon Speedcross Trail Running Shoes and 1 pair of waterproof Merrell Moabs for Washington.

As for food, I went to Winco Foods to take advantage of their fantastic bulk section which includes a rediculous amount of dehydrated food such as: Tortilla soup, Vegitable Chili, Refried Beans, Instant Potatoes, Cheese Sauce, Texured Vegitable Protien, Powdered Hummus, Powdered Milk, Cocoa, Powdered Peanut Butter, Falafel and more. Me and my mom made our own recipes and prepackaged meals and I went to Cosco as well for Oatmeal and other food I thought I might enjoy and need on the trail. Unlike some people, I did not pre-plan every meal based on exactly how many calories I think I might be needing because really, how am I supposed to know exactly how I will be feeling, months before I am actually in the experience of the hike.

2 days before I leave, I'm not crippled with stress and I'm not sick to my stomach with anxiety. I'm full of energy and ready to go. The only thing I am afraid of is running out of water or being bitten by a snake which are reasonable fears when the first 700 miles of the trail run through the Mojave.. So wish me and my lover luck! Or don't, I mean HYOH.. right?

bottom of page